BetMcLean Cup: Second Round

Ballymena United 0 - 1 Coleraine
04 Oct 2022 - 19:45Ballymena Showgrounds

CONOR McKendry’s goal with ten minutes to go earned the Bannsiders a hard fought 1-0 win on Warden Street…

In a game played in difficult conditions at the Ballymena Showgrounds, both teams would create half opportunities early doors as Jordan Gibson and Lyndon Kane threatened the goal mouth at either end.

However, the chance of the first-half would fall to the Sky Blues as David McDaid had the vision to pick out Kenny Kane but his attempt was smothered wide.

The Sky Blues would make a bright start to the second-half and Kane would see another glorious chance come and go as he fired wide of the post after Conor Keeley’s knock down on 48 minutes.

Oran Kearney – who was overseeing his 500th game in management – would see his side improve thereafter as Conor McDermott, Matthew Shevlin and McKendry all had sights of goal but they couldn’t find a way past Sean O’Neill.

On 68 minutes, the hosts thought they had edged in front as a delivery into the box met the head of Keeley and just when the defender started to celebrate, he was denied by a superb save by Martin Gallagher.

As the game entered the last twenty minutes, Coleraine would be given the ideal chance to take the lead as Michael Place was adjudged to have tugged Shevlin inside the box, leaving referee Tim Marshall with no hesitation in pointing to the spot.

To matters worse, the United man would be dismissed for a second bookable offence but Shevlin’s effort from 12 yards would be denied by O’Neill.

However, despite that setback, Coleraine would take the lead on 80 minutes. A clever piece of play and build-up by Jamie Glackin on the right-hand side teed up McKendry who slotted home at the back post.

Coleraine – who have reached the last two finals of the competition – were able to see the game out and reach the quarter-final with the draw being made on Saturday.

BALLYMENA UNITED: O’Neill, Redman, McDaid, Kelly, McElroy, McCullough, Kane, Gibson (Henderson ’54 mins), Parkhouse (Waide ’85 mins), Keeley, Place.

Subs Not Used: Whiteside, Loughran, Graham, Clarke, Farquhar.

COLERAINE: Gallagher, Kane, Mullan, A. Jarvis (E, McLaughlin ’76 mins), McCrudden (Farren ’46 mins), Carson (McKendry ’33 mins), O’Donnell, Glackin, O’Mahony (Lynch ’46 mins), McDermott, Shevlin (J. McLaughlin ’83 mins).

Subs Not Used: Deane (GK), Mitchell.

Referee: Tim Marshall