Pre-Season Friendly

Coleraine 2 - 1 Tobermore United
22 Jul 2023 - 12:00The Showgrounds

COLERAINE produced a second-half comeback as they defeated Tobermore United at The Showgrounds…

Gareth Deane, Aaron Jarvis and Andy Mitchell provided the experience as they were joined by a raft of members from the club’s U20 side.

It would be Coleraine who would threaten first as a cross by Mitchell inadvertently turned goal wards as the ball went narrowly over the crossbar. On 17 minutes, the Stripes would be denied by the linesman’s flag as Luca Doherty’s strike was deflected into the path of Mitchell who converted from close range but he was adjudged to have been offside.

However, the visitors began to dominate and Deane had to palm a strong effort from distance over the crossbar. The resulting corner kick would see Daniel McIlhatton completely unmarked and the midfielder made no mistake with a header.

The chances would keep coming for Tobermore as the lively Owen McKeown had a strike on target before McIlhatton would see his attempt clip off the side of the post.

The final opportunity of the first-half would come the Bannsiders’ way but Jake Martin could only drag his effort wide of the post.

Just before the hour mark, Coleraine would go close as Mitchell would have a shot saved but United should have stretched their advantage as their forward could only dink the ball wide when one-on-one with Deane.

On 66 minutes, Oran Kearney’s men would find an equaliser as the ball was worked to Aaron Jarvis at the edge of the area and the midfielder’s driven effort sailed into the bottom corner.

The comeback would then be completed ten minutes later as the ball presented itself to Mitchell inside the box and the striker hit a shot on the turn that would sail into the net.

Before the full-time whistle, Mitchell will feel he should have added his second of the afternoon as he hit over the bar after being played through by Aaron Jarvis.

A good test for a squad largely made up of members from the club’s U20 team.

COLERAINE: Deane, Trialist, Dealey, Dennison (McCloskey ’46 mins), Moffatt, Martin, Callaghan (Wilson ’72 mins), A. Jarvis, Doherty, O’Neill (Kirk ’72 mins), Mitchell.